Letter Against Fear. By Lidia Yuknavitch.

I know your childhood fears all too well, sad but very beautiful story.

The Manifest-Station

Letter Against Fear. By Lidia Yuknavitch.

This is me running away from home for the first time.

lidiawithscarydoll

I’m three. I have a small plastic suitcase and a big scary looking doll. Look at that thing. My cat “spice” is in the foreground, probably wondering where I’m going. My sister is in the background, nearly out of the frame, in the most glorious red dress.

I went to the edge of the yard and sat on the curb for about 30 minutes.

The house is near Stinson beach near San Francisco, where I was born. The yard was filled with fruit trees. The house was filled with anger. My sister and I were terrified most of our childhoods. My father bred fear into the bodies of his daughters.

And yet look at me. In that moment of the picture, taken by my mother who no doubt thought it looked cute, like…

View original post 480 more words

Leave a Reply

